Spitsvuur Boerboels, breeders of Boerboels, or the African Mastiff, for export of healthy puppies and mature dogs all over the world.

Archive for 04/06/2012

Appraisal Heilbron 2/6/12.

On Saturday I took Spitsvuur Magic for a re-score. Although he had 95.5% and I was satisfied with that, I always felt he was the best Boerboel I ever saw, and therefore I wanted to give him another chance to get a better score. Fortunately we had three senior appraisers present (excluding me), but understandably enough, no one was keen on exposing themselves to the criticism of beiing the one that appraised a dog very high. In the end one did it and when the calculations were done, and the score came out at 98.5%, there were general concern that it was so high. They came to me and asked me to bring him into the ring again so that all three could appraise him together. I overheard the first appraiser asking the others to to “help find items where we could lower the score.” They went through the whole scorecard and did find one item that lowered his score to 98.2%. All three agreed that there was nothing else that they could do: That was the correct score for him. Magic is such a wonderful example of the breed. While holding him, I realised that there was nothing I could do to make him look better. He did everything by himself. Magic – you made us proud.