Spitsvuur Boerboels, breeders of Boerboels, or the African Mastiff, for export of healthy puppies and mature dogs all over the world.

New Website format

The new website is quite different from the older website layouts that were retained for about ten years, and therefore I would like some suggestions on what to add or delete from the curent layout. I would also be good to know what you would want to read in a website like this. Because it is so eady to communicate in this type of website, I will try to convey information more readily to the readers. If I know what interests the readers, I will try to put that on the site.

8 responses

  1. Hello Lukas, good to see your website back up. Just wanted to let you know about something on the For Sale page https://spitsvuurboerboels.wordpress.com/for-sale-2 Under “The Spitsvuur Guarantee” some of your text is in black there making it almost impossible to see, and read. Just thought you might like to know.

    16/04/2012 at 1:05 am

    • Thank you Marco. I will attend to that. In the back side of the website, everything is in black and white.
      How is kenzo doing?

      18/04/2012 at 8:24 am

  2. Sugathan Gopinath

    Hi Lukas.I think there are few spelling mistakes in your new web site..ie 1 – In front page the word “APPRENT” i think APPREHEND is the correct word.Am i right? 2 – In DONs page the word FENOMANAL i think PHENOMENAL is correct.Iam not sure.If iam wrong please ignore this comment.Sugathan

    25/04/2012 at 7:09 pm

  3. Love the new site. Im still working on my own, thanks for the awesome male.

    20/06/2012 at 1:32 am

  4. Elliott N. Campbell

    Hello my name is Elliott. I tried to send you an e.mail but it would not go through. I’m from New York and am trying to understand why there is so much variation in the dogs from breeder to breeder. Is the weight between 110 and 150 or 175 for males and females? Also should I assume that dogs here in the states that favor Cane Corso or English Mastiff are not true to type? I have also seen narrow mussles and wide ones. How do I judge whats correct to what is not? I dont know what you know of the United States but, people here are so consumed by money they will sell you a Poodle and tell you its a Boerboel if you let them.

    16/12/2012 at 2:25 am

    • Elliot,

      I am in the US at the moment, visiting our children. Some of the photos of US breeders might raise doubt about the pureness of the Boerboel, but in SA, people know the Boerboel well enough to recognise the crosses quickly. There are still quite a few breeders that do not give enough attention to the head in breeding, and some BB ends up with long or narrow muzzles. The variation in weight and size does not worry me that much, as long as the dog is a strong and heavy boned and muscled dogs.

      Unfortunately you will always find some breeders that gives too much attention to the money side of breeding. That is inevitable, and we will just have to live with that.

      21/12/2012 at 10:13 pm

    • ru

      Hello,

      I have to agree with Elliot on this one. I also see some boerboel breeders that breed for a head that is too large for the dog’s body or the dog has a head of a bullmastiff with the muzzle of an english bulldog. terrible!! i got my boerboel from S.A. from Dopper Boerboel. Although I am not happy with their professionalism, nor with the fact that the puppy was sent to me with no testicles and is shorter than what is acceptable in the Boerboel, he exhibits the temperament and has the conformation of a true boerboel. my little minnie :o) i would like to get another one in the future, but will be even more selective. Some of the breeders consumed by money extend to the homeland of the boerboel as well, unfortunately. the ones that suffer are the pups. Sadly, I no longer will have the opportunity to get my boerboel appraised. I was really hoping to by the time he turns 1yr old.

      13/01/2013 at 6:54 am

Leave a Reply

